Holistic Health and Nutrition…a Little Bit About How I Handle Them

I have been gradually increasing our family to include whole foods and decrease prepackaged goods for the past 5 years. I’ve studied holistic health and nutrition and have learned many things. Always a student is is my philosophy and I am always learning and wish to share with you what I’ve learned, past and present.

In my quest for health I’ve had to be as frugal as I could as we are only on one income and are not debt-free yet with 4 hungry kids.  I am not able to buy everything organic or get grassfed beef as I’d like to. We used to be blessed with raising chickens in a previous home but have not had the opportunity for a while. I sure do miss those yummy eggs! I do make almost everything from scratch including but not limited to macaroni and cheese, spaghetti sauce, anything baked and chicken stock. I use dry beans in our cooking as they are cheaper, have better flavor and no preservatives. With them I will also make refried beans and hummus, yum. My kids have always grown up with a diverse diet as I like to experiment with new recipes so I luckily don’t have to deal with picky eaters.

For first aid and colds I utilize herbs, herbal teas and extracts as the first line of defense or offense. If it cannot be handled at home I will take us to the doctor or emergency department. Before staying at home I was an RN and do respect what science and medicine has contributed but feel strongly that it should be only as necessary.

 

Care to add your thoughts? Questions?

