Homeschooling For Us

This is the beginning of our fourth year in our homeschooling journey. Things have changed so much during this time of living and learning- from what I believed what it was to be “doing school” to how we raised our kids. Our first year was mainly a de-schooling year. We bought a complete curriculum that first year and barely used it, it just didn’t fit us(mainly my teaching style). Then we became more eclectic in our approach to schooling and we fared a little better. A couple of years ago I was introduced to Charlotte Mason and had started reading about her and her education philosophy. Her writings spoke directly to my heart and I knew that we were a kindred spirit. So I started to implement her philosophies to our lives little by little. In the spring of 2010 I planned on using Ambleside Online for our next school year’s teaching. I had quite a few of the books already(I’m a book junky) that I had gleaned from yard sales and secondhand stores and I purchased some that I knew I wouldn’t find. But by the time the school year started I had chickened out and we used other materials. That school year was hard work to get through.

This year we had no funds for purchasing more curriculum due to some unforeseen hardships, so I was led to try Ambleside Online again. I only needed math to buy so we drilled and played math games until we could get it. During the end of summer I planned out the entire year of school out weekly and put together their notebooks(I was still finishing it their first week back). I did excel sheets for me to put in my own notebook to check off also. We started off this year with a bang and we were off and running. After the first week my 13yo daughter says to me “I love this new curriculum!”. I asked the boys and they all agreed that they were enjoying learning. Wow, did I feel like supermom or what! We have now completed 5 weeks of the school year and are enjoying a little break.

Happy to be Homeschooling,

V.I.C.K.I.

4 responses »

  1. You are on track!!! There really is little need to buy a lot of curriculum, between the library and the internet it’s all there!

    btw, I love the name of your blog. 🙂

Care to add your thoughts? Questions?

