Meet My Best Friend

The Crock-Pot!

I love my crock-pot! I am not a meal planner at heart so being able to throw something together that will magically conjure up a meal for my family is a blessing. It helps me to be able to prepare a healthy meal for my family without the hassle of remembering when to start it. I don’t know about you but I have difficulty remembering when I need to start dinner most days. I even put a reminder on my phone to help. But alas, if I don’t have my phone on me constantly then I don’t hear it.  Ugh!

Our family likes food. When we do go out to eat, it isn’t at the same restaurant every time as some do. We enjoy a variety of food and we make a variety of food from different cultures. My kids are connoisseurs, too. They were not raised with the same foods every day growing up and I attribute that to them having missed the ‘I won’t eat that’ stage.  I have lots of cookbooks and the internet to search for what our hearts(or my) desire is that day. But most of the time I take a look at what I have and make my own creation. So we hardly ever eat the same thing twice! Sure we have our ‘taco night’ and ‘spaghetti night’ and a few other dishes that I periodically make, I’m no Martha Stewart you know!

So I’ll share what I concocted tonight in the hopes that others out there might need the same kind of help that I do.

We’ll call it….Choccoliflower and Rice:

2 Cups chicken broth

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of chicken soup

5 chicken breasts(cut in slices or chunks)

1 package each of frozen broccoli and cauliflower

1/2 an onion

2 tsp garlic

2 Tbsp Mrs. Dash Table Blend

salt and pepper to taste

Place all but frozen vegetables in slow cooker, on low for 6 hours. Add frozen vegetables and place on high for last 1-2 hours(depending on how you like your vegetables). Then 30 minutes before dinner make enough rice for your family and enjoy!

All measurements of time and food are approximate. (Feeds family of 8)

P.S. I usually cook my rice in broth to give it that extra kick!! POW!!:)

Happy Eating, 

V.I.C.K.I.

4 responses »

  1. (SMACK)(swallow)(**BURP**) Excuse ME! Sorry, I was just finishing up some of that Choco..broco..col..whatamacallit. It is a very good recipe! One of my Favorites. Your should really check it out….excuse me!…Got to get back to the FOOD!

  2. Well let me share mine (you might recognize it). I wanted to make tuna casserole. I was outta cream of mushroom so I subbed in broccoli cheddar soup. I was outta tuna I subbed canned chicken. My 5 year now says that its her favorite 🙂 I gotta love a dinner mistake turning into a new found meal.

    • Oh, it drives me nuts when I have a hankering for a dish and can’t make it. It’s like I have rewire my brain to want to eat something else! 😉 Sounds like you made a yummy alternative, though!

Care to add your thoughts? Questions?

